Put the Kettle On

Sharing and caring — Prose

Neera Handa Dr
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by AKASH MISHRA on Unsplash

“The kettle is on”!

My friend messaged me, when I said I was coming.

Another friend said to me on the phone,

“I'm on my way, put the kettle on”!

My neighbour texts me,

“Come over, just putting the kettle on”!

What’s this kettle business!

I wonder.

Do we need to have a cup of tea, or coffee to chat!!

Yes, we do! And it is great having a chat over a cuppa.

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

In Australia we call it a cuppa!

A cup of tea.

A cup of friendship!

You don’t need a counsellor if you can have that cuppa with someone, a few times a week.

At work, we stop to have a cup of tea, or coffee with our colleagues. Just a 20 minute break.

At home, my husband, and I, most evenings after work, or weekend mornings, sit together, with our cups of tea, sipping it, sometimes talking, or mostly in silence.

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.