Finding The Gift Left By Abandonment Trauma

Seeing the blessing in my childhood trauma.

Laurel Sibanda
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Junseong Lee on Unsplash

I’ve carried the pain of feeling abandoned and rejected by my mother for most of my life.

My mother and I had our first official separation when I was 5 years old when she migrated to the UK whilst I was still in Zimbabwe. This has shaped so much of my experiences with her, myself and how I have related to the world.

As a child, I couldn’t understand why I felt a lingering emptiness and sadness that no one else seemed to relate to. I was also prone to tantrums and violent outbursts when my dad would leave, even if it was for a day trip.

As I got older, my relationships reflected this abandonment wound. I kept attracting people that I couldn’t bond with. Of course, at the time, I didn’t see it that way. I would be very co-dependent with my friends and love interests, whilst also being so heavily emotionally guarded.

Abandonment trauma often results in a strong aversion towards genuine emotional intimacy.

This is how a lot of us end up with an avoidant attachment style. You can be surrounded by a lot of people and get a sense of closeness from them, but ultimately when that wound is unhealed, it keeps them at a…

--

--

Laurel Sibanda
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Spiritual writer, poet and author - writing about healing, self-love, womanhood and spirituality. https://laurelsibanda.com/