Resilience And Refraction

All things Resilience : Prompt 20–26.07

Devieka
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Photo by Hobi industri on Unsplash

I have a couple of tattoos, each one after every transition in my life. The higher up I go, I mark it with a tat. Yes, I’m one of those.

A couple of years ago I was fixated on wanting a tattoo of The Phoenix. Beautiful and majestic, rising out of ashes. Then I got thinking. I have always found a way forward, always been bright and hopeful, regardless of what came my way. So why did I want a tattoo that spoke of rising, rising also meant collapsing first. Which I never felt was something I resonated with.

But then of course, awareness set in and realization of life in it’s true depth hit me like a brick on my face. I had my share of experiencing rock bottom and eventually picked myself up.

Funny how I am constantly thinking of a prism as I connect it to resilience.

I’ve been fascinated by the prism for as long as I can remember, white light, refraction, burst of color, you know how it works.

Prism, Refraction and Dispersion. Source — Google Search

Now, imagine yourself as a prism and let’s consider white light as life itself. Life around you will always happen, it will enter you whether you acknowledge it as a whole or not. But what you can be aware of is how you convert it, which is also a constant.

How lovely would it be when you constantly see the burst of color you create?

What I am trying to say is, life will happen. The good, the bad and the ugly. But there is always color and you are the one creating it. Whatever change is happening, is happening within you.

You are the prism.

Look at the color.

Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange and Red.

And for us, VIBGYOR is

Valiant, insightful, blissful, grateful, youthful, observant and… resilient.

Diana, thank you for an amazing prompt as always. Absolutely loved how I felt while exploring my thoughts.

I wrote an article sometime ago that speaks of resilience as well. Accepting defeat and to then pick yourself up.

--

--