Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

Self-Portrait #2 — The Journey Continues

It’s as if 2015 thru May 31, 2019 never existed.

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
23 min readOct 4, 2020

--

First edition end of June 2020 [first published on my Medium page late September][now with substantial December re-write][ some of this is restated in later essays you may have read]

I didn’t even realize when I wrote my 2013 self-portrait that I was on a Journey to the East (reference to a Hermann Hesse book). That leg of the spiritual journey plateaued October 4, 2014, the day I ran my second 1:41ish half marathon in 4 weeks and ended in early 2015 when I got bored of being clean and sober around people that weren’t.

Five years later….

Photo by Nikolas Noonan on Unsplash

The Cataclysm

This supersonic leg of the journey started March 19th:

“Hello, I had hoped we would meet one day under different circumstances and write this mostly in the present tense. My name is Greg Maidman, I am a close friend and confidante of Lindsey’s. In fact, I love her. I am the person who went to the precinct and pushed and accompanied the police to check on her after they were being dismissive the previous day. I have never experienced such

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.