Servings of Expectations

Photo by Name Name on Pexels

when core radiance settles
controlled attachment drains
love dissolves in hatred fragments

sensitive doubts attempt mockery
numb suspicion engages
disappointment stirs and stirs
mixing clashed hearts

empty servings of expectations
arrive on fractured plates
personal dread leads me astray
my mind begs and begs to feast

sadness as garnish
marinating every crevasse
of my craving weakness

but I am not hungry for darkness
I am starving for acceptance

desperate indulgence refused
oh farewell expectations
youโ€™re empty and tasteless

Iโ€™m responsible for what Iโ€™ve done
for what I choose to consume

solace meals of inner placement
rightfully fill my soul
self-acceptance is scrumptious
happiness deserved
I savour this meal in abundance

now outcomes donโ€™t eat hope
growth lives in destinations
my healing is awareness
a wild appetite in self-dedication

I rest at the table of oneness

Toni Love

--

--