Stoicism: A Curse or a Blessing?

A Deceiving Delusion or a Path to Peace — That’s up to You

Ticiano Gonzalez Morillas
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by naturezarelaxante from pixabay

I was a more rational than emotional person. Don’t get me wrong; I have always been very emotional, but I never let my feelings, whether good or bad, oppress my rational mind. Decisions I took were always based on reason instead of a gut feeling. I never truly trusted my emotions. I saw them as something irrational, illogic, and weak. I was convinced that making the right decision demands me to focus on what I think, not feel. Logic is real, emotions are deceiving, and I cannot control my feelings, I can only control my thoughts. This is what I rationally told myself. And I loved myself for being so rational. It became a part of my personality.

Following that, I encountered the philosophy of stoicism. I started watching YouTube videos about famous stoics, read articles about how everybody must adopt the daily routine of a stoic, and bought my first book on how to become a stoic. I became obsessed with the idea of not letting my emotions influence my decisions in any way, learning what I must attach value and importance to, how to deal with the opinions of others and many more. Most people, including me, thought that learning this is what stoicism is really about.

--

--

Ticiano Gonzalez Morillas
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Hello everyone! I inspire to reflect upon characteristics of human behavior that are misconceived or ignored by society. Let's look behind our facades together.