WRITING CHALLENGES | KTHT PROMPTS

Taming The Beast of Self-Doubt

KTHT Challenge Prompt April 20th

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readApr 20, 2022

--

Photo by Adam Flockemann on Unsplash

As someone who has suffered mental health issues for 20+ years, my greatest challenge has been taming the beast of self-doubt. I am often riddled with internal voices that I call Nagging Nannies. They say things like…

You’re not good enough.
No one cares about what you have to say.
You’re writing is shite.
You’re art is shite.
Everyone knows you are an imposter.

That last one, called Imposter Syndrome, has been the hardest for me to overcome. I’ve been carrying the burden of the Imposter Syndrome since I was six years old. At that time (back in the early 70s), I had fallen ill from Reye’s Syndrome and had fallen into a coma. When I awoken, I had no memory of who I was, nor who my parents or siblings were.

We form our beliefs, values and morals from our parents and those around us in our early childhood. Generally by the age of five, those beliefs, values and morals are engrained into us. Because I had no memory of those earlier years, I had to completely invent myself. And, because my mother didn’t believe me when I said I had no memory, I had to hide that fact from the world. I…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh