Tarot Changed My Life For The Better

And I couldn’t be any happier!

Jasmine Hearth
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Grass pathway overlooking the city with people in the background.
Photo by Tanya Pro on Unsplash

I didn’t know what I truly wanted in life

And I still don’t.

I went on most of my life not knowing what I wanted and was jealous of those who did.

Then, I discovered I was deeply passionate about tarot and divination. Sometimes, I wish I had found it sooner.

I was in high school when I discovered tarot

I tried making my own deck from tiny pieces of paper but discarded it.

It didn’t feel the same as having the real thing, and it might have killed my motivation.

I didn’t think my parents would accept it so that added to me giving it up.

I stuck to tarot reading apps with free card pulls for a while, and then it remained at the back of my mind for some time.

But then, I went to the mall with my sister and friend

We went to Spencers, and inside was a metaphysical section. My sister showed me one of the tarot decks on the shelves.

It was the Mystic Mondays Tarot.

I was so happy I immediately bought it. Not knowing the impact it would have on my life.

Picture of a worn Mystic Mondays Tarot deck box.
Worn Mystic Mondays Tarot deck. Photo by Jasmine Hearth

I wanted to learn everything immediately

And I did! Sort of.

In reality, I can only learn some things about tarot because there is enough to last a lifetime.

And what I soon discovered…is that tarot was persistent in getting you to understand an important message.

I kept getting “stalker cards”

Some tarot readers call it that because they appear consistently in readings.

It does not matter if it’s your reading, someone else’s, or a different deck in use. Mine was the 2 of Wands.

This card was PERSISTENT

The book said the 2 of Wands can represent sticking with the old or trying something new (one of its many meanings).

It consistently showed up, and then suddenly, the whole suit of wands was “stalking” me.

Looking back, it might have had to do with me wanting to turn the hobby into something much more and following through with it.

Picture of the Two of Wands from the Mystic Mondays Tarot.
The Two of Wands from Mystic Mondays Tarot. Photo by Jasmine Hearth

Journal Entry

I am a VERY private person, and admittedly, it’s scary to show this entry.

But I want to include it because it reflected my feelings when I began my tarot journey.

My writing and grammar could be better (almost 2 years old), but it was written to record, not impress.

Picture of a printed diary entry tapped onto the page of a ringed journal.
Diary Entry #3 Photo by Jasmine Hearth

To shorten the journal entry

I was going through inner turmoil, and at the time, my mental health was at its worst.

The most significant theme was my fear of taking risks and failing and not wanting to lose something that brought me so much joy.

I feared looking back at my journal entries

I thought it would trigger hurtful memories and feelings.

I am glad I did anyway.

Photo of a sunrise with a pink-blue sky and grass valley.
Photo by Elena Rabkina on Unsplash

I still use tarot to help me get to know myself

It points at all the good, bad, and ugly.

Which is helpful for me in identifying the steps I need to take to heal.

And I noticed I am healing because everything hurts.

Journaling with tarot became my favorite way of expressing my feelings and thoughts and reflecting on them.

I look forward to continuing my journey of self-discovery!

--

--