The Art of Slowing Down

How Stillness Can Bring You Closer to the Present Moment

No Sorensen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

I tend to enjoy the idea of slowing down and being present, but it’s the action that I struggle with. I’m working on it, though, and I can tell you that slowing down is a real challenge. It can be frustrating to be patient when everything else seems to be about immediacy. Social media, music, movies, TV series, and purchases can all be done with a button click. I sometimes ask myself, “Why do I need to slow down? I’m functioning like everyone else.”

The truth is that it’s not about functioning. It’s about presence.

Functioning is not fully living. We live in a world that’s obsessed with efficiency and crossing things off our endless to-do lists. But I think we’re missing something.

Slowing down is not necessarily about doing less. It’s about focusing on what you’re doing.

The practice I’m working on is making many of my routine tasks feel more like rituals.

Before enlightenment, chop wood, carry water. After enlightenment, chop wood, carry water. — Zen Proverb

This Zen Proverb reminds us that enlightenment doesn’t change the task itself; it changes the way we approach it. When I make my coffee in the morning, I’ve made it an all-consuming process where I…

--

--