The Awakening Power Of Meaning

Having a Reason Why can drastically change how you live life.

Giuseppe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
4 min readJul 26, 2023

--

Free stock photo by Max Andrey — Pexels

Why are you here?

Why are you reading this article?

Why do you do all that you do on a daily basis?

Why do you wake up in the morning and get ready to live another day of your life?

Why are you aware of yourself?

Why were you given the gift of being alive?

Questions that have almost become taboo. Yet, they awaken a deep part of our consciousness.

March 2017

I was laying on my bed, looking up at a blank point of the ceiling of my house. I felt like floating in the open space and a feeling of bliss, mystery and joy wrapped my entire body. I felt every cell within me bursting in ecstasy.

It only lasted a couple of minutes, but I knew I wanted more of it.

I had just finished writing a chapter of my very first unpublished book. My dream was to become a bestselling author and for the first time in my life I had found something that had true, intense and profound meaning.

And what caused that feeling of bliss wasn’t so much the dream I had in itself, but more the fact that I had just given to my Heart and Soul the time to create.

Without thinking too much, without expectations or plans of what I was going to write. I didn’t even know how to do it properly, but I knew that it was what my Heart craved.

So that rainy day of March 2017, I found out why I was alive. Life, as I knew it, changed completely from that day onward.

Follow your Bliss

In one of the latest Deepak Chopra’s books, he talks about an interview of a very famous journalist that took place a while ago where the man interviewed, Joseph Campbell, speaks of the power of following one’s personal dream using these words:

Follow your bliss, and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.”

On that very day I had a taste of my own bliss, and decided to commit my entire life to pursue it more and more, without ever losing the hope that one day, my entire life would be just a repetition of that feeling of bliss, moment by moment.

I also knew that behind that feeling, behind my personal dream, along with achieving what success looked like to me, lied also the gift of touching many more lives and to help many people lead a better and more meaningful life through the message I wanted to share.

In fact I’m going to let you in on a little secret as of how you can find your own bliss too.

See, if your dream or the vision of you achieving your own dream, doesn’t involve helping or serving someone else in any sort of way, then you might want to adjust your aim. This doesn’t mean that you’re on the wrong path, but just that true fulfilment only comes through act of deep service, in one way or the other.

My profound experience of bliss was caused by the deep knowing I felt that, through what I wanted to write and talk about, I knew I could impact people’s lives and change them for the better.

My own Dream was strictly related to serving one more, or many more, lives.

And if you’re wondering ‘why is that?’, well…

That is because when you find out that all that you do is not only going to give meaning to your life but that it’ll also impact other hundreds or thousands of lives then you will have also found a reason to spread Love through your actions.

A deeper Love that will impact yourself and your life to begin with, as well as spreading through the lives of hundreds of others, which is the ultimate reason to pursue a dream altogether.

There’s no one I know who is extremely successful at what they do and they simultaneously cause harm or negatively impact other people’s lives. If they do do that, then they’re not that successful.

Success is straightforward consequence of doing what you truly love and are passionate about, along with making the world a better place.

Therefore I want to challenge you, here and now, to find your very own bliss through these words and to push yourself to find the answer to these two fundamental questions:

  1. What does have intense and profound meaning for you in life?
  2. How can you use your personal bliss to help and serve other humans in any sort of way?

Oh, one last thing.

If you were asking yourself how do you go about finding what holds profound meaning for you, then look back in your life and try to remember the moments where you felt the happiest and most connected to your true self.

You might find some traces there.

With Love.

--

--

Giuseppe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Seeker of Meaning. Obsessed with researching tools that can enhance the unlimited Human Potential. Let’s live to the fullest.