The Dark Night of the Soul

through the lens of a writer

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I never imagined that clicking on a random Facebook post early during the pandemic would take me on a journey through the dark night of the soul…writer style. It was a post advertising an online writing workshop. I thought, what the heck, why not, and decided to join. I remember during that time, I desperately needed something the feed my soul and curate joy in my life.

The workshop was nothing like I expected. It was prompt based, where writers in little zoom boxes, of every writing modality and location, gathered and wrote their hearts out in 5–10 minute increments. We would then share what we came up with aloud to the group. I won’t lie, it was a bit intimidating at first, but then it became this beautiful sacred space of creativity and self-growth. And like the rest of the world, I was experiencing growth in all the areas of my life as the world shut down. It felt to me as if the world was experiencing a mass dark night of the soul where no one in the collective consciousness was spared.

And so, I embarked on this journey week after week as the world spun around me in its chaotic dance. I felt as if we were all forced to deal with our shadow, as individuals and collectively. Every week I would use writing as a tool to learn more about myself. This was another thing the workshop focused on, using…

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.