The Journey of a Writer (Part 4)

The Voice of the Writer

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Have you ever thought about your voice as a writer? How the words flow and come together as a unique extension of yourself? I would imagine that for some people, finding their voice comes easy, and for some, it takes some exploration. I will admit, for me, it takes some exploration. I say this in the present tense, because I feel like I am constantly evolving and growing as a writer.

Another milestone of my writing journey was learning the difference from who I wanted to be and who I was as a writer in terms of voice. Maybe, like me, each wordsmith comes to this realization at some point in their writing, probably sometimes repeatedly.

Years ago in my journey, I joined a critique group of fiction writers who all wrote in the same genre. We had to submit a chapter each time we met and then give each other feedback. This had been one of the most amazing experiences in my writing journey up to that point because I had remained a lonely, closet writer. It felt nerve-racking the first time I shared a piece of me. But I found that there is something to be said about collaborating and co-creating in a group, especially if each person is adding their own uniqueness. When we are in our head too long with a piece, what we think comes across and what people perceive can be completely different. Other’s…

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.