The Lasting Lessons of “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

How Richard Bach’s Classic Continues to Inspire Freedom and Authenticity

No Sorensen
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image created with DALL-E

In 2001, as a freshman in a rural Southern Oklahoma college, I read Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach for the first time. My father had lent me his worn, tattered copy, and I had never encountered anything like it. As I flipped through the yellowed pages in my cinderblock dorm room, I felt a surge of excitement at the thought of living beyond societal constraints and my limited view of life.

Richard Bach said, The book is for people who feel they have wings. It’s for people who feel that they can fly and who believe they can escape the confinements of everyday life and achieve their own dreams and aspirations.”

At that time, I was struggling with the transition of moving away from friends and family, trying to find my place in the world.

Jonathan Livingston Seagull ignited a spark deep within my soul, whispering, “There is so much more to life than what you have known.”

This thought was revolutionary to me, and I realized I was just doing what was expected of a young adult, without questioning if it was truly what I wanted.

“Don’t believe what your eyes are telling you. All they show is limitation…

--

--