The Heart Has A Mind Of Its Own

I thought my kind of love would burn slowly.

Victoria Nwachukwu
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMar 12, 2024

--

Photo by Aman Shrestha on Unsplash

The kind that grows on a person with time. One with several processes and transitioning. Love at first sight is a thing, but I'm indifferent about the concept.

  • Will I recognize love when it comes? Especially when it comes from the place I least expect.

I dare say the heart has a mind of its own.

If not, why won’t it listen to me?

It leaps before I say jump, it loves when I’d rather hate.

It gives freely what I wish to keep. It chooses before the options are even arrayed.

Hold your horses and it’ll let go of the reins completely.

My hands and feet move at a coordinated pace, but when it comes to my heart, it would rather go alone.

Well, seems the heart wants what the heart wants.

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Could this be love? Am I in love? How do I know I'm in love? (how do you know that you're in love?) Will I know love when it comes? I feel like I'm in a Hallmark movie and if I will title it it would be called Love On A Mail. No, I'm not a helpless romantic (just in case you were wondering).

I want the kind of love that makes me stutter, the kind where the feet are off the brakes. I want fun. I want adventure. I want happiness. I want peace. I want a friend-turned-lover kind of story. This cannot be too much to ask for or is it?

--

--

Victoria Nwachukwu
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a creative writer, songwriter, and singer. I capture the in-betweens of life in words and say the things too heavy for the lips with my pen.