The Parental Dilemma of School Enrollment

Balancing Dreams and Dollars.

--

Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

“Study time, Son,” I shout my lungs out across the other room, ensuring he listens to me well. Both of my kids are playing out in the living room with their toys. That I suppose, at least. Because occasionally I also hear them argue, whine, and cry.

I am not going to resolve their issue. Let them sort it out themselves. My forever mantra! I try not to interfere as much as possible. But kids are kids. And it’s just a matter of time when you are overdone with these tantrums. And that moment, my last resort to avoid these ceaseless cries is to take him out and make him sit to study despite his defiance.

I have high hopes for him. I want him to be the best and outstanding. One thing that peeves him.

Lately, I have been as busy as a bee searching for the best school in town; for both of them, also quite vexed over the proliferating tuition fees over the past few years, let alone the other miscellaneous expenses these mushrooms of private international schools pour in your cup.

With two kids; one in kindergarten and the second entering, I am wondering if I will be able to get both of them enrolled in the same school — this year.

A Dilemma for every expat like me.

Their admission forms are spread in front of me; both filled and ready, and the chaotic savings from the banking dashboard are smirking at me and ruining my inner peace.

I calculated all the expenses once again, had already done a number of times, but same.

Should I wait one more year for Her to enroll? She is just 2.5 years old. She can wait. Nay? My Mind suggests.

But why? didn’t you enroll your boy at the same age? My Heart interjects, shunning away the idea given by my mind.

Things were different at that time. He was alone, and his home country was quite affordable. My Mind pitches in his reasoning very well. Also, she is just 2.5 years old, she can still wait but your BOY needs a good school.

She will cry. Heart sobs. Don’t you see her interest? She is always ready to sit with you for a study while you focus on your boy who is least interested in even replying to you.. You can’t just exclude her. Heart flinches and comes out emotionally aggressive.

But she is just 2.5. She is not going to study in school anyway. She will be in pre-school. Mr. Mind tries to be reasonable. And it’s not wise to splurge on preschool plays.

By the way, these are called interactive plays to fine-tune motor skills. Miss. Heart is adamant. You must not reject your little one enthusiasm for learning, she also deserve to thrive.

I look up. Five minutes have passed. He is not even here.

His whines, their arguments, her cries continued.

I called again, but to no avail. He preferred to ignore me totally.

Impulses of impatience crept inside me, and I called him again. Quite irked.

“No Papa, I don’t want to do study.” He yelled from outside.

Look! How obedient he is. YOUR BRAT. Heart’ snide and snort just ran over my pride and poked my incense.

He is five and in Kindergarten, irritated.

her cries soar high. She is two-and-half and not yet enrolled.

I am thirty-four, perplexed, vexed, and now infuriated too. I trudge out to give him a lesson in defying me. How dare he say No to studying while I have big plans for him?

Only HIM!!! my heart skipped a beat, You are the sexiest! Miss Heart scoffs at me, despicably.

But she is just 2.5. Ain’t she too young for that? I wince a bit.

Let me call your wife aloud, she needs to know the bias you are showing towards her, just because she is a girl. Miss Heart is brewing with rage.

I was furious once, and now baffled. Looking for a help. My Mind had gone numb, Seems Miss Heart is ruling.

“Papa, I want to study.” my little prince runs towards me, wiping her face with her little hands.

My boy didn’t budge, not even looked up.

She is beaming while asking me hopefully. “Papa, will you enroll me in school?”

--

--

Stories by Peculiar Pollyannaish
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

An occasional writer who loves to dwell in never-never land and has an endearing penchant for inditing. An avid reader who savors fiction like cheesy-Alfredo.