The Power of Poetry

from my perspective

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by vicky_photographies from Pixabay

I’ve been writing poetry since I was a child. My first recollected memory is writing a poem for my fifth-grade class about an owl hunting its prey. With that first assignment, I was hooked.

I want to say that was the first time I understood the power of writing, but I think it began when I started writing in diaries. I could pour my feelings, frustrations, joys and curiosities into a page. Who was I writing to? Well, it started out…Dear Diary. But I think it would be appropriate if it meant…Dear Me. The truth is writing in my journal expanded to me playing with poetry.

Poetry to me is a different type of writing. It allows more freedom of creating in smaller bursts. It’s an invitation to play with words, rearranging them to evoke elusive feelings swirling inside my soul.

To feel the power in threading words of description and emotion, crafting a lyrical exposé of creativity is addictive. I can lean into my feelings, while creating beauty with the silent song in my heart. I think poetry and music have a close relationship in helping human connection. Poetry cuts out all the extra noise and gets right to the point.

I’ve healed hidden wounds with poetry. I’ve discovered a deeper relationship with myself through poetry. I’ve built a new community of humans from all walks of life…

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.