The Richness That Comes From Slowing Life Down

Words by Egypt
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
4 min readJul 10, 2020
Photo by Roberto Salinas |Unsplash

Without reflection, we go blindly on our way, creating more unintended consequences, failing to achieve anything useful-Margaret J.Wheatley

The modern world as it stands is a constant stream of activities. We’re ever on the go, and our schedules are full.

From housewife to CEO, none of us are immune to the bombardment that comes with our hectic lifestyles.

My transition to slow

I used to be one of those go-go-go personalities. Always somewhere to be and ever something to do. This way of life was exhausting, to say the least. I knew something had to change.

Over the last 5 years, I’ve made a conscious effort to slow my life down. This change sparked a feeling of always waiting for the next thing. Never grounded in where I was or what I was doing.

It gave me an eerie sense of not living to the fullest. Leaving me with a feeling of detachment from my life. I knew things had to change. This was not the life I wanted.

I knew there was more to life than speed. Life could be deeper, richer, and laden with wonder and joy. I started to change things.

I read more books. I avoided social media at all costs. I set limits on my online usage. I wanted to feel free. Like I wasn’t bound to tiring and pointless activities.

Modern life is too fast and leaves us spent

In our modern lives, opportunities to waste time are abundant. One can succumb, to the strongholds of addiction are ubiquitous.

If one isn’t vigilant of the activities they permit in their lives, they can find themselves living a life they don’t recognize. I wanted more from life. More from myself. I wanted to be more for my family. For my community.

Slow living enriches life

Slowing down my life in many ways has provided me that opportunity. I’ve rekindled the richness in life that is often dulled by speed and over-stimulation.

Being vegan, I noticed that eating simpler, whole foods naturally slowed my life down. Eating a whole food diet requires slow preparation. This process lends itself to optimal digestion. And involves a slower and more conscious relationship to food.

This slow food lifestyle has enriched my life in many ways. I’m still working on my online consumption of media. This is another area that can make life faster. I’m eagerly working on tipping the balance from consuming to creation online.

My daily writing practice provides for that. Writing slows down my thinking, helps crystallize it. Ensuring my mind isn’t running off to a thousand places.

Unlock the beauty of slow

Slow is beautiful. Slow living adds beauty to life unmatched by speed. I bid you try it sometime. It’s hard to see the beauty in everyday things when we’re busy rushing around!

Some ways to slow down time for reflection

I noticed when I began to slow life down, more time opened up for reflection. I was able to examine how I’m living my life. Was I wasting time on nonsense? Was I making a change? How could I become a better person? A valuable person?

All these questions need time and space to develop answers.

We reduce our mental space when we’re occupied by news feeds, social media, and a packed schedule.

Slow living is natural living

Living a slower, more mindful life is natural. Nature has its cycles, seasons, and time needed for certain things to occur. It can’t be sped up.

We slow down to the natural pace of nature when we get off the rat race, ad the excess consumption. Humans are not meant to be on the go like this. To be under-slept, overstimulated, and always busy is a terrible thing.

It breaks down the human psyche and health. If we want to live more healthy, sane, and balanced lives. We have to slow down.

Conclusion

Modern life is hectic, and unsettling to the soul. It is unnatural to live at such a fast pace. Excess information and material consumption lead to an imbalance in our lives.

Leaving one with a feeling of ever wanting more. Living slow is a gift we give ourselves to live a more reflective, calm, and healthy life.

When we make changes to our lives to unbusy ourselves, we are saying no to chaos, stress, and disorganization, and yes to joy, peace, and balance. Slow living is mindful living.

Writer’s Note: Egypt is a writer, poet, minimalist, freedom, and wisdom seeker. She writes on things related to simplicity, creativity, and freedom HERE

Originally published at https://artisanoffreedom.com on July 10, 2020.

--

--

Words by Egypt
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt