There’s More To Me Than Meets The Eye

Cute, but not cliché

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Image by Robert Nagy on Pexels

Pretty faces are everywhere, and the fleeting glance really enjoys admiring the polished shell. I do too, but I’ve also always believed that raw beauty possesses a magnetism that transcends appearances. It requires work to get to it, maybe even a pickaxe to unearth. Once you come across it, though, you understand why you should never go just for the looks.

I’ve changed my appearance several times throughout my life, from hair colors to how I dress. I’ve been on a quest to discover what style best fits my personality, and I finally found it at 26 with a fringe, chocolate brown hair, and Frenchy style clothing (God, how I love French berrets!). But one thing has remained a constant throughout my life — people calling me “cute”.

“Cute” is a word often used to describe a youthful appearance, maybe even a bright smile or bright eyes. And whilst it’s cute to be called cute, it’s also annoying if that’s where the exploration ends. For whatever reason, people tend to assume I’m a small talk type of girl, as if being “cute” ties with innocence, naivety, and no life experience, which doesn’t allow room for depth, intelligence, humor and curiosity.

There are so many reasons why physical appearance simply isn’t enough when it comes to judging one’s character. Looks can’t tell you…

--

--

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Editor at KTHT & Hobbies & Stories. Penning, polishing, and provoking thoughts. My online presence is vast, explore it here: https://linktr.ee/ktht