There’s Only so Much Strength in Me

I have battles of my own to fight

Srujani Shrawne
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Strength, I want to be, but there’s only so much strength in me.
Strength in you, I can help build,
There’s only so much I can do, for I have battles of my own to fight.

I see you weak, but that’s what you seek,
For you put not the effort to leap, and in that dungeon, you weep.
I send a rope for help, but you pull me down,
There’s only so much I can do, for I have battles of my own to fight.

I see you live in the hole with ease,
To the idea of a world beyond the shadows, you creep,
Of the dark, you’ve accepted the horrors.
There’s only so much I can do, for I have battles of my own to fight.

It’s not that I’ve escaped, mine is a spiraled landscape.
Back and forth in the dunk of space, struggling to keep up each day.
There’s only so much I can do, for I have battles of my own to fight.

The battles I fight,
Are those of the world, those of the time, those of another spine,
And the most difficult is the one with me.
The battles of my own, I fight each moon.

--

--

Srujani Shrawne
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am an inquisitive soul, curiously exploring different aspects of life and sharing my interpretation of the world through poetic verse