This Time, I’m Doing Things Differently

Taking care of yourself is crucial to a life well lived

Carly Newberg
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Caique Nascimento on Unsplash

This time,
I’m doing things
differently
by taking care of myself.
Asking, “What do you need?”
and, “How can I help you?”

My mind, body, and soul
cannot take the
unease and anxiousness
that come from
codependency
anymore.

This time,
I’m practicing
acceptance
over what is and isn’t
within my control.
I’m letting
expectations
fall like rain and
wrapping myself up in a
warm blanket.

I am okay and safe
even when it feels like
I’m dying.
That is and always will be
truth because
no feeling lasts
forever.

--

--

Carly Newberg
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Yoga teacher / freelance writer / mental health advocate writing boldly & bravely about relatable life experiences. I’m done staying silent.