To My Best Friend

A poem

Mya Summers
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
1 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Photo by Fallon Michael on Unsplash

There’s a hole in my heart where you belong.

You took a piece of me when you left.

I lost our faith, but I hope you’re in heaven.

I hope you’re doing well…

The world doesn’t stop for pain.

I’m stuck on this train flying forward.

I wish I could get off. And be. And breathe.

I live a life of dichotomy. Presenting a smile to the world with a wound in my chest.

It’s like you took the most important part of me.

I love. But it’s not the same. Everything is broken. I love through pain. I live through pain.

I lost my faith, but I hope to see you again. Even if it’s in the peace of darkness.

To the reader:

As difficult as grief can be, I know the pain is the result of the deep love that I once had. Life can be scarily beautiful. Cherish those you love and who love you while you can ♥️

--

--