Photo by Dziana Hasanbekava : Pexels

What 6 Months of Writing Taught Me

A reflection on my writing journey

Adrian writes
3 min read5 hours ago

--

Before I begin this story, I want to thank you all for supporting me throughout my journey here in Medium. I remember when I first started publishing my first blog post Masculinity, I totally have no experience in writing or how to make a proper blog post or story. I just write and share my perspective and turn my ideas into words.

Now that I have reached my first 6 months of writing here in Medium, I wanna share what I learned and experienced in my writing journey.

I will not make this into a very long story.

Before I began writing I asked myself why do I want to write? and I remember back then where I should write or post my works. I searched for blogging websites that are user-friendly and have a good community base and good engagement.

That’s where I found medium.com, I tried to read stories here and it was really good website for writers.

Why do I want to write? What’s my purpose? Is it really my passion? Will it work?

These are the questions I asked myself before I made a draft.

The answer to my Why do I want to write? Is because I really want to inspire and help others. I really don’t know what my niche yet that time up until now. I just write about self-improvement, well-being, mental health, life, and personal stories.

I’m a person who is a jack-of-all-trades, I did vlogging, photography, programming, graphic design, and now writing. I can say that I have basic knowledge and experience from those things I mentioned. But I didn’t master them.

Writing for me is different, it gives me a voice in this chaotic world. I can express my ideas to the world, it pushes me to reveal my true self. I will share one of my dreams with you all. I want to make a book one day I don’t know what kind of book I will make but I really want to make a book that will be published nationwide or worldwide.

In my 6 months of writing, I learned to be consistent and dedicated to my craft. I don’t want to know the basics anymore; I want to master writing.

But it’s a rough journey, there are days that I break down because I don’t see any results. When I saw my stats and I saw that no one reads my stories, it kinda hurts me. I once thought of quitting, maybe this is not for me, maybe no one is reading my stories because I’m a bad writer. But there’s something inside that wants me to keep going. A voice inside that doesn’t want me to give up on this thing.

That’s when I learned to be patient, writing taught me patience. It’s not always a sunny day, there will be storms along the way. I learned to steer through that storm in my writing journey.

Writing makes me a better person; it changed me into something I never thought I would become. That’s why I will keep going, I will write not because I want to be a famous writer or earn a lot of money from it.

I will write because I want to write. I love to write, Time will tell if this is for me or not.

But for now, I’ll keep writing. I won’t worry about the future for it will come. before I end this story I’ll give you a quote from one of my favorite writers;

“The important thing is not what we write but how we write it, and in my opinion, the modern writer must be an adventurer above all, willing to take every risk, and be prepared to founder in his effort if need be. In other words, we must write dangerously” — James Joyce

Thank you for reading!

Have a great day!

--

--