Writing Challenge

What Does It Mean to Be Human?

Asking yourself empowering questions

Claire Kelly
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJul 7, 2021

--

Image Citation: Quicksandala from Pixabay. (CC0)

Thank you to my wonderful friend Tree Langdon for pulling this thought-provoking prompt straight from her brain caverns. Tree asks us to ask ourselves empowering questions about what it means to be human and so much more.

The past year I’ve thought a lot about my life and what it means to be human. Certain events in my life pushed me to really sit down and think. My life definitely hasn’t turned out how I ever thought it would, but that doesn’t mean all is lost.

I’ve learned a hell of a lot from all my experiences, even the most painful ones. I’ve also learned that there is a lot more to life than meets the eye. There’s more to people’s stories than you could ever know, and sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction. Being human can be a wild ride!

That’s the beauty of being human on this planet. Just when we think we can’t take anymore, we do. Just when we think we can’t stand up and fight, we do. Something inside of us lights our way when everything goes dark. Thank you, Tree, for making us think!

Human

We’re given a body to walk this earth
after our birth
but we’re not
just empty holes
with no souls
walking around
like pieces of meat…

--

--

Claire Kelly
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

MEMBER SINCE FEB 2021. Spirituality and poetry are my passions by night, and I'm a content writer under daylight. I'm a boost nominator at Write Under the Moon