What to Do If You Are Afraid to Fall in Love Again

After a heartbreak, loving again seems daunting.

Jessey Anthony
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

How to Stop Beign Scared to Love Again
Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

I told myself “Next time I fall in love, it will be with someone deserving of me.” The problem with this mindset is that if I keep it up, I don’t see myself accepting anyone, not in a long time.

It’s crazy. Even when I want something or find someone with most qualities I seek in a partner, I still do not have the courage to let them in.

I was 17 when I had my first crush. We dated for a while until we got bored of each other. My first love taught me strength and prowess, but then it burned my self-esteem along the way. Since then, I have stuck with a strict rule never to love again.

But our human heart can be fickle. Despite my walls, my fragile heart cracks up when I meet a handsome and intelligent man.

When I first got heartbroken at age 23, I was a mess. I remember lying in bed feeling like the world was over or maybe I was going to die. Despite being emotionally abused, It wasn’t easy letting go of the happy memories.

I lived in denial for a while, waiting for him to come around. At a point, I gave up after a series of on-and-off reconciliations. I convinced myself that love wasn’t worth the headache.

--

--

Jessey Anthony
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Motivational speaker, fitness enthusiast, and self-improvement nerd. See how I stay fit and confident: bit.ly/3j0Lm9Z