When I Was Young

a poem

Lady Teabird
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
4 min readMar 29, 2022

--

Image by the author — Lady Teabird

I.

When I was young, I used to listen to the drums

And wonder at why most people are simply left with the crumbs

Then I grew up and saw Mama cry night and night into a pot

And told myself that I’d work hard to block her tears with everything that could be bought

I’d grow up and be rich

And we’d forget about the old times with the turn of a switch

I’d paint over the callouses on her hands and erase the worry lines by her eyes

I thought poverty was something you could exorcize

But like putting lipstick over dry, flaky, chapped lips

Hardship is not something that you can easily eclipse

It would take more than a brand new car to drive my mother from the misery that had stitched itself far into her organs and her veins

II.

When I was young, I was cheated by a rose

It was my first memory of feeling weary and indisposed

In spite of the sandpaper on which I’d been spread

With child-like naivete I guess I’d assumed that everyone gave thanks to their daily bread

Speak, see, and hear no evil

When cheated, I was in an upheaval

Embraced by a dust cloud and chugging diesel to mar my insides

People were mean and would easily bulldoze you like a riptide

People could make you feel like dirt

Apparently there were no limits to how much you could get hurt

III.

But that was not who I was

Disenchantment was not a sufficient cause

For shedding the kindly disposition I’d been earlier taught

I was kind, and good, and startled by my dark thoughts

I needed to shut myself off to cope

And wash away the negativity with soap

My heart entered an unholy union with hope

Afraid to make their relationship official in case what they had was hanging by a flimsy rope

Their acts of copulation must have been loud

Because my father, in that quiet lacerating manner of his, commented and I was cowed

He said to me, gruff, but with some tenderness underneath the muff:

‘Son, there are some things not up for show

And more yet that you cannot know’

His branch-like fingers embedded into my shoulder for support

I, with nothing worthwhile or pithy to report,

Swallowed silence even though it had been my last resort

When your father tells you that the trees, earth, and skies are mute

That little in life is resolute

That suffering rides wild with a cap

And that no bullets, arrows, or words can help you to find your way back on the map

It’s enough to dilute your desire to try

IV.

With no dispute

I gave up and my pain was acute

I didn’t have it in me anyways

I nailed my body to the hardest gravel and laid in preparation

I’d been marked for slaughter from birth, that’s what my father said

I couldn’t stop my mother’s tears

The buckets is which she bled would triple over the years

My father would continue to hold onto me with desperation and babble

Afraid that too much hope would eventually turn me into a jackal

Once I realized that, as with the rose, life deals you with multiple lows

And for some, they overcome

As for others, they succumb

My father taught me that we were the type of people who were safer trying nothing and accepting what we had

That living with low expectations wasn’t so bad

You knew where you stood

And that was always good

But thinking and telling my mother we could do better

Would only upset her

And I didn’t want that, did I?

Father asked

Meekly, I said no and crawled into a happier moment from my past

V.

That was when I was young

Now that I’m older

I’ve gotten a little bolder

When I’m gray

I have much to say

When I set my true self loose

There’s no room for abuse

I gurgle my frustration

Mask my hesitation

Clipped though my hands may be

Underrated though my feet may seem

They have power enough to glean that

It is not up to me to race to the finishing line when the whistle is blown

The wind shall pick up my self-inflicted spite

My insides shall churn to instill in me some might

And I shall soar and cross the finishing line when the time pleases

Not a second before

Not a second too late

VI.

When I was young, I didn’t know that being happy was a choice

And that if you tried hard, you could block out the noise

Now that I’m older, I rinse the fune-real smog from my coat,

Hang it by a chair and raise my head to a tilt, light in one eye and darkness out the other

How I hate a life that goes on repeat

To live is to live and to learn along the way

So that some day, you can love yourself a little bit more

Because you’ve learnt to be a little more

Than what you were yesterday

It’s incremental

It’s steep

It’s hard

And you’re constantly on guard as you wait for a green card to tell you that you’re cured, you’ve matured, and you’ve magically secured a place in the hall of those who made it to the other side of the hell on Earth

That’s nonsense and you know it

Life is improbable

And unsolvable

But we must live it as if all’s probable and solvable

It’s in hope and faith that our humanity lies

--

--

Lady Teabird
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Still trying to figure out where I am but I’m pretty sure I’m off by a continent, a few galaxies, and…yep, I just missed the last turn to nowhere.