When It is Time to Move On

A poem about despondency, and the bewildering weight of unfulfilled expectations.

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Hans Isaacson on Unsplash

the recluse of life is indefinitely severe
heavier on the heart, and harder to bear

here, there, we try to emigrate
running away to a place of solace

comforting thoughts ushering in our blindness
while the people around us pay no mind

whatever will happen, the worry appears
can I be free, from this despair

will I dispel this agonizing fear,
will she love me, for whatever I gave her dear

I wait and wait for her to notice I’m here
but only naught is what I experience near

oh dear, I fear, I fear it all will end
I might wait too long, and she might never come

what if I close my eyes, and imagine it as I bear
the pain, the sorrow, the tearful release

but then again, who am I kidding,
she left me for dead, why am I still here

why, oh why, should I just disappear,
yes, I’ll disappear, it’s time to say; goodbye…

--

--

Riku Arikiri
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

It’s never black or white. Sometimes there’s a bit of spicy red in there as well.