Where Creativity Goes to Die

an existential crisis of a writer

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Mike Hindle on Unsplash

The intricacies of a writer’s mind are like a mine field of epic proportions. Or, at least, mine is. As a creative, I struggle with the balance of living in the everyday world and existing in a creative one in my head. And I find myself wondering, where does creativity go to die? I believe that this can be different for everyone who has some sort of creative bone in their body.

I find that for me, plotting and outlining is a creative drag. Or maybe it’s my perspective on the necessity or pressure of it. I mean, I’m sure if I work hard enough, I can switch my negative and resistant thoughts to a more positive and exciting direction. Humans are highly programmable creatures, after all. If you don’t believe me, no worries, but being a daughter of two certified hypnotherapists has either made me really screwed up or left me with the understanding that our minds are so much more powerful than we are led to believe. And yet, here I am drowning in my struggle between the analytical and the creative.

I’ve listened to multiple authors on pantsing vs plotting. I’ve done both, pantsed my way through a project and then obsessively tried to plot. I’ve downloaded multiple software applications, used notes and outlines, tried Scrivener and other writing tools that inevitably sit on my computer…

--

--

A. N. Tipton
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.