Where Were You on 9/11?

Twenty years later, I remember it like it happened yesterday.

Crystal A. Wolfe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
5 min readSep 11, 2021

--

We can officially mark the twentieth anniversary of the 9/11 attacks. Although it happened two decades ago, I remember the events of that day very well.

I was sitting in my high school English class. Front row and directly under the television. I was already in a foul mood because I knew when I went home after school that day that I would have to take my dog to the vet and be euthanized. He was sick for weeks, and his condition deteriorated faster than anticipated. My mom was away on vacation with her fiancé, so their burden would have to fall on me. Luckily, I knew that my dad would help me with the unfortunate task once he got home from work.

I couldn’t concentrate on any work and was dreading hearing Mrs. Stock’s next lesson on motifs and themes, and I could not help but to wonder, How are we still talking about Hamlet?

She burst through the door, and I thought, Here we go. Queue Hamlet’s ghost… To my surprise, I saw the shock on her face, and she said, “There has been an attack on the World Trade Center.”

Watching her alarmed, I was taken back. I have no idea what the World Trade Center is, but it sounds important.

--

--

Crystal A. Wolfe
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Creative writer, full-time RVer, & travel enthusiast. Follwer her on her adventures on Facebook, Instagram & YouTube at: https://linktr.ee/CrystalAWalker