Who I’m Meant to Be

A poem

Waqas Ahmad
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min read2 days ago

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Who I’m meant to be
is a question that lingers,
like a shadow that follows me
through every step I take,
every choice I make,
whispering in the quiet
of my thoughts,
in the stillness of the night
when the world is asleep
but my mind is wide awake,
chasing the echoes
of dreams yet to be realized.

Who I’m meant to be
is not a destination,
but a journey,
a path that winds
through the landscapes of my life,
sometimes clear,
sometimes obscured
by the fog of doubt,
by the weight of uncertainty.
I stumble, I fall,
but I rise again,
with each step,
closer to the truth
of who I am.

Who I’m meant to be
is written in the lines
of my hands,
in the stories etched
into my skin,
in the scars that speak
of battles fought and won,
of lessons learned the hard way.
It’s in the laughter
that bubbles up
from deep within,
and in the tears
that carve rivers
down my cheeks,
both a part of the same river
that flows through me.

Who I’m meant to be
is a melody,
a song that plays
in the background of my life,
sometimes soft,
sometimes loud,
but always there,
guiding me,
reminding me
that I am more
than the sum of my fears,
more than the weight
of my mistakes.
I am the notes that rise
above the noise,
the harmonies that weave
through the dissonance,
creating a music
that is uniquely mine.

Who I’m meant to be
is not defined by others,
not shaped by their expectations
or their judgements.
It is a flame
that burns within me,
a light that shines
even in the darkest nights,
even when the world
tries to snuff it out.
It’s in the choices I make,
in the love I give,
in the courage to stand
even when I’m afraid,
in the strength to be gentle
in a world that often isn’t.

Who I’m meant to be
is a question I answer
every day,
with every breath I take,
with every step I make.
It’s a story
I’m still writing,
a painting still in progress,
each brushstroke
a new possibility,
each colour
a reflection of the life
I’m creating.

Who I’m meant to be
is not someone I find,
but someone I become,
a journey of becoming,
of growing,
of transforming
into the person
who has always been there,
waiting beneath the surface,
ready to emerge
when the time is right,
when I am ready
to embrace the fullness
of who I truly am.

This poem captures the essence of self-discovery as an ongoing journey, rather than a final destination. It explores the idea that who we are meant to be is something we continually create and uncover through our experiences, choices, and growth.

--

--