Why I Pressed Pause on My Writing for a Few Days

You do what you gotta do.

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Picture by Quang Nguyen Vinh on Pexels

May arrived in a flourish, both online and offline, bursting with positive vibes. I happily released the monthly prompts and started brainstorming new topics to write on. But then it started raining, and not the refreshing kind! Rather, a digital downpour of glitches on Medium, which affected my pub’s traffic and engagement. I saw this as a cosmic nudge to take a mini break. To observe the unfolding from a healthy distance, keeping my sanity intact.

There’s been a surge of creativity within me and, since I decided not to release it on this platform, I had to find other ways to channel it. So I’ve ordered sensory art kits and been modeling clay succulents for the last few days. I’ve had such a blast, my inner child is still thanking me for this. It was the most therapeutic thing I could’ve done for myself.

I often think about how we view mindfulness and meditation in such traditional, and dare I say, strict and stuffy ways, when they’re so much more than that. Using all my senses to create something totally new was the most present and mindful experience I’ve had in a long time. Stress and anxiety? Poof, vanished! In their place, this beautiful non-judgmental awareness bloomed. And no, this stuff isn’t just for kids. I’m really enjoying carefully arranging my clay succulents in wooden boxes and using them as decorations in my apartment.

After this well-deserved break, I’m ready to write and interact again. And I’m also ready to urge you to ditch the boring meditation apps and start unleashing your inner Michelangelo. Thank me later!

What are your unconventional ways of practicing mindfulness/meditation?

--

--

Diana C.
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Editor at KTHT & Hobbies & Stories. Penning, polishing, and provoking thoughts. My online presence is vast, explore it here: https://linktr.ee/ktht