Why It’s a Challenge To Pick Up The Phone

Times when I looked at my phone and hoped no one would call me.

Daksh Parmar
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Photo by Jae Park on Unsplash

Yesterday, I got a call from an unknown person, It has a name, I never heard of. I looked at it, let it ring, and the phone cut. I copied the number and checked on Whatsapp, to see who that person was.

It was a call from a delivery person, calling for the package, sigh!!

Why I am like this? If I just picked it up, I wouldn't waste my and his time. Why do I get afraid of talking to an unknown person on a phone, it’s not like he is video calling me.

He doesn’t even know me nor have any interest in me, still, my heart beats faster than a flash, seeing an unknown number on my phone.

Usually, I don’t get calls other than a few family members, who also complain about why I don’t call them. And I have no answers to it, I just don’t call, if it’s not important.

I know it’s not a good thing, calling your loved ones is something I should do. I can’t wait for their call, or don’t call them until they do.

In that sense, I like talking more. I like talking to my family members face to face instead of calling and saying the usual stuff. I get more humorous around my people, let them laugh, and have fun. But calling blocks my mental capacity to think and all I do is “Hmmm, Yeah, Right, Okay”!

I can sense their thoughts, which clearly says I am not interested in talking, but I am just in the block stage where I don’t know what to say.

Now I am thinking, I should call them first, even tho I have nothing to talk. At least they won’t think, that I don’t care, because I called them.

--

--