WRITING CHALLENGE | KNOW THYSELF HEAL THYSELF

Writing Through The Pain

KTHT Challenge Prompt June 8th 2022

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

As I write this, my mind is a blank. There is no inspiration to be had. Words won’t come. Thoughts are scrambled. I ask myself, how can I possibly inspire others to write when I have no ideas to divulge to them?

Right now, pain has overshadowed everything.

Those words above have sat on my screen for hours, taunting me. They don’t make for the beginnings of a writing challenge, do they? Or do they? I know I am not alone in these feelings. I am sure you too have felt uninspired before. I honestly believe it happens to all creatives when our bodies are in pain or our minds are troubled. This isn’t quite the same as writer’s block. It is more like too many boulders in the way that need to be moved, or trying to swim upstream. The effort is too great.

And yet, I know if I just keep putting words on the page, something will become of them. Nonsense? Possibly. Incoherent sentences? Most definitely.

I call this ‘working through the pain’ and it is a game I’ve learned to play with myself because the alternative is worse, so much worse — nothingness. That will never do, not for a writer, artist, musician, dancer, or other creatives. We need to be…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh