FREE VERSE

Writings on the Sand

Part 2 — a poet’s message

Madhu
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Generated with Bing AI by the author

An unfriendly wind picks up
as the unusual winter set in,
once a paradise of green and rich
now has all frozen over in grey.

Fledgling of a heart of mine
that is untrained in adversities
and is adrift in uncertainties
forages for refuge and remedies.

But the eternal threat of a gale
now wanes with the hiemal halo
when I found a message buried,
locked in a fallow under the frost.

All their writings on the sand
bloom in Camellias beside me,
a void brimming with colours
little left to echo any blues.

A hope planted somewhere
now has taken root here.
Unbeknownst to the poet,
in their words, I survive
and savour the world again.

© Madhuvandhi Ravi 2023

This is my message of gratitude to every artist around me, here on Medium and outside, who has inspired and healed me with their art. I was fortunate to come across many great stories and enjoy a lot of new music in 2023, and I am only excited to keep discovering more this year.

Special thanks to 𝓓𝓲𝓪𝓷𝓪 𝓒 for making my poems a part of this wonderful space at Know Thyself, Heal Thyself.

You can find the link to part 1 below. Thank you for reading!

--

--

Madhu
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Dreaming of a million lives and hoping to bump into every one of them with the help of some words.