You

The war is over

--

Surrender by the Author

deceit seduced me
to wield a sword of revenge
I was hurricane wind
on the back of a white horse
ripping through mountains and valleys
dust clouds erupting behind me
like wild black smoke
that emerged from my throat
after rage set my heart on fire.
Stoic emptiness.
I became
gasoline to the flames.
my claw hands
gripped my deadly weapon
ending many lives
with pride
without mercy.
I beheaded all betrayers
players, naysayers
until I found
You.
broken to your knees
face crumbling in your palms
drowning in your lies
Eye contact.
my heart’s fire died
your soul called out to mine
I put down my sword
and took your hand.

--

--

Artemis Sullivan
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Surfer & occasional beach chair writer. I like to present common things in unfamiliar ways.