You Needed To Know

A Prose Poem Of Coping ~

Ridge
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Martin Wettstein on Unsplash

When one has nothing good to say
One should say nothing at all
I broke that rule for you
Because I love you

There were things you needed to know
Stuff you needed to hear from me
Our home had lost its zen
It needed to be said

I was not prepared for your response
So cold, defensive, and punitive
I was confused and empty
It was unreasonable

Perhaps if you’d considered the source
Opted to hear me and take stock
Instead of taking offense
We’d not be here

Months afterward you proposed a summit
It felt more like a parole board hearing
You were bellicose but emotionless
The atmosphere was oppressive

You had a solemn authoritarian demeanor
On defense at the first sign of emotion
My anxiety was through the roof
As things escalated I blew

I later apologized for my outburst
Clearly, It was time to move
Our bubble had burst
Plans were made

I’ve been gone 15 months now
I’m still writing this stuff
Therapy has helped
Zen is restored

I try to keep up with your progress
Wishing you every happiness
Pity our worlds collided
I’ll be listening

© September 23, 2024 RidgeMagee

Ridge's Poetry

111 stories

--

--

Ridge
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Engaging & exploring alternative points of view. Forming opinions and convictions empirically. Tendering perspectives without apology.