You’re Not Unlovable Because Someone Didn’t Know How to Love You

Even though it may feel that way sometimes

Joni Seeto
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

Photo by Tiago Bandeira on Unsplash

I still remember the day it clicked for me that the people who love us do so for who we are, not for what we do. It was a rainy, wet morning and I was still lying in bed as I grabbed my phone to reach out to one of my closest friends.

I felt that I’d been a bit of a crappy friend to her recently. I’d been very caught up in my own stuff and hadn’t reached out to her in a while. As I clicked on her name while mentally rehearsing the apology I was about to send, I saw she’d sent me a link to a song.

As I listened, I burst out in tears, the lyrics piercing straight through my heart.

“The list goes on forever
Of all the ways I could be better, in my mind
As if I could earn God’s favour, given time
Or at least congratulations

Now, I have learned my lesson
The price of this so-called perfection is everything
I’ve spent my whole life searching desperately
To find out that grace requires nothing of me”
extract from “One” by Sleeping at Last

--

--