You’re Pursuing Someone’s Desires And Don’t Even Know It

A Journey Back to the Core of You

Khalimah Malik
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
3 min readSep 12, 2023

--

Where external influences tug at us from every direction, I found myself asking a simple question: Do I truly know what thoughts are my own? It’s a question that, over time, became more urgent and necessary to answer. This journey of self-discovery was a process of shedding the layers of external expectations and desires to uncover what my soul truly craved.

The Constant Influence of Others

This day in age is filled with an overconsumption of advertisements, opinions, and perspectives of others. Social media, television, and even casual conversations all contribute to the never-ending stream of external influence. These influences can easily blur the lines between our desires and the desires of others.

Not only are we exposed to external influences, but we’re also shaped by the people we interact with daily. Colleagues, friends, and family all have a say in the choices we make, often unknowingly steering us in directions that may not align with our true selves.

The Need to Shut Out the Noise

Realizing the overwhelming impact of external influences, I decided it was time to shut out the noise. I needed to regain control over my thoughts and actions. It was a conscious effort to create a space where my thoughts could emerge without being overshadowed by the loudness of external voices.

I needed to reconnect with myself. I needed to find out who I truly was and what I genuinely wanted from this lifetime. This process wasn’t quick or easy; it required patience, introspection, and a willingness to let go of preconceived notions.

Unearthing My True Desires

One of the most eye-opening realizations during this journey was how many thoughts and actions I had taken on that were not truly my own. It’s surprisingly easy to convince ourselves that we want something when we lack discernment. I had spent years chasing after fame and success, jumping on every side hustle and business opportunity that seemed promising.

It wasn’t until I found myself in solitude, with only my thoughts for company, that I began to truly understand what I desired. It was a pivotal moment where I had to confront the incongruence between my actions and my authentic self.

How had I, an introvert who disliked the thought of taking pictures, let alone being the center of attention, found myself yearning for fame and external validation?

Redefining Success

In my pursuit of self-discovery, I realized that my ego had been driving me toward surface-level fulfillment. It sought immediate gratification and external validation. There’s nothing inherently wrong with those desires, but I had to ask myself: What was the end goal? What was I truly chasing, and why?

Success was really inner peace, comfort, and financial freedom. Those things could be achieved without becoming the next millionaire or going viral. A multiple six-figure salary and a quiet life were enough.

The Wrap Up

In the end, my journey to self-discovery was about stripping away the layers of external influence and getting to the core of my desires. It wasn’t about rejecting the external world but defining success on my terms, not based on societal expectations.

Take the time to shut out the noise, reconnect with your true self, and redefine what success means for you. Knowing what you truly want can be the most liberating and empowering discovery of all.

-Khalimah

--

--

Khalimah Malik
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Empower individuals to regain control of their minds and ascend to their highest potential | https://khalimah144.substack.com/