Cameras you should consider that aren’t Nikon or Canon.

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam
Published in
5 min readSep 14, 2017

My first DSLR was a Canon Rebel t3i, and it served me well. But a few weeks ago, I bought the Fujifilm X-T20 and made the switch to mirrorless. This isn’t to say that I’ll never go back to DSLRs (I’m actually thinking about investing in a 5D), but it got me thinking about the possibilities outside of the popular DSLR brands like Nikon and Canon that aren’t widely considered as valid camera options.

At Digital Media, we tend to use more Canon DSLRs (since writing this we have upgraded to a Sony a7), but I know some of our team members who personally use other brands. So, I asked them a few questions regarding:

Ease of use

Features

Accessories

Problems you’ve ran into

Overall impression/rating

Here is what our staff had to stay:

Kenzie-Sony a7 RII:

Via Wikipedia

IT’S MIRRORLESS!

VIDEO IS FANTASTIC. It shoots incredible 4k. I’m obsessed with the SteadyShot. I can pretty much free hand for anything now and you would never be able to tell.

Autofocus for video is very convenient; it pretty much does all the work for me.

The Sony has amazing low light capabilities but I feel like everyone knows that.

You can shoot slow mo but not THAT slow, [and] you can shoot in log which is great.

The battery life sucks but I think Sony will change this in the *future as well as the one slot for SD cards.

Sony is expensive so that’s a downer, but you are paying for great quality, especially the lenses (Zeiss is amazing glass).

I have found out the hard way [that] Sony struggles with third party equipment. I have had issues with Canon lenses, metabones/generic adaptors, and body grips but there are so many variables in my situation.

DJ-Fujifilm X-T10:

Via Flickr

Some of my favorite things about my Fuji XT-10 is the form factor/size as well as the the film stock emulations. I really like being able to quickly send pictures to my phone from the camera, as well as having physical dials for settings like shutter speed, but wish it had ISO as a dial on the top as well.

It is really easy to use once you spend a little time figuring out where some of the buttons are, and I also really like the silent shutter option in order to not distract people. I do wish they had a little big bigger selection of native Fuji mount lenses like a nifty 50, but you can use lens adapters to use Canon, Nikon, PL as well as other lens options.

Overall I’ve been extremely happy with my Fuji and have very minor complaints.

Zack-Panasonic Lumix G7:

Via B&H

I have no frame of reference for how easy this camera is to use, but I can say it’s just about as easy as most cameras I have used. I primarily shoot video, and this camera lends itself well to this use.

One of the G7’s strengths is its customization. There are five function buttons on the camera that you can assign any parameter or setting that the camera allows you to control. As an example of what they could be used for, I have my Function 1 button set to show you what in your image is in focus. My Function 2 button brings up a menu where I can change my recording format, and Function 3 brings up a menu where I can choose the grid guidelines that I see on the camera’s LCD screen.

This camera’s sensor size is Micro Four Thirds (sometimes seen as m4/3 or MFT). This means that, compared to a full frame sensor, it is cropped in 2x. As a result, if you buy a 25mm lens, it will translate to a 50mm field of view.

Micro Four Thirds lenses are not hard to find, but if you have plans to buy certain camera in the future you can just buy a lens adapter for that mount.

Most of the problems I’ve run into are lighting based. For some reason I always seem to be shooting in very low light situations or very bright situations. I’ve yet to counteract this, but the main fixes are to purchase a lens with a low aperture (f/2.8 or lower) for low light situations and buying a Neutral Density (ND) Filter for light situations.

I researched cameras a lot before making this purchase. This is my first “serious” camera and I have no regrets. For a purchase around $600 dollars, this camera is great. I can shoot at standard frame rates in 4k resolution, and I can shoot at up to 60 frames per second at 1080p, allowing me opportunities to shoot in slow motion. This camera is a great value at the price.

Casey-Pentax K-S1:

Via B&H

This is a great camera for beginner photography, and when I say photography, I mean for only photography. While it does record video, its lack of a built in stabilizer causes even a steady shot mounted on a tripod left with ripples and distortions.

I got my camera for a great deal on B&H — with a lens included it only cost $400.

Pentax allows you to use film lenses without an adapter allowing for increased flexibility and affordability in lenses.The DSLR has standard features and has a screw mount for tripods and other mounts.

This is a great photography camera, and by investing in lenses it’s just as versatile as a Canon or Nikon.Though, if you’re like me and are interested in vlogging, quick high quality photos, and a movable screen, this is not the camera for you.

*Sony’s a9 has dual SD card slots

If you end up getting any of these cameras for yourself or even a different brand from the ones mentioned here, let me know! I personally recommend anything Fujifilm, but I’m completely biased. And if you already shoot with a Canon or Nikon, that’s cool too.

--

--

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam

Musician & Content Creator. Social media — @anellimoliveira — Twitter & Instagram.