How to make your own online quiz

The Photography Quiz explained

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam
3 min readMar 10, 2017

--

Are you wondering how I did the photography genre quiz? Wonder not, because I’m going to take you behind the scenes.

How the idea began

I wanted to write a post about Astrophotography. I get really excited about space and technology and this style of photography combined the two topics nicely for me. However, there were already great articles about astrophotography from how-tos to comparing amateur vs. pro astrophotography, so there wasn’t anything that I was going to be able to say that was innovative and different.

But in photography, there are tons of different styles so I started listing some and the most logical connection I could see incorporating the list I made was through a Buzzfeed style quiz format.

Step 1: Find your Quiz Template

The Google showed me different options for quiz templates, but qzzr looked the cleanest and easiest to use to me. After choosing which template I was going to use, I came up with a very basic structure for the the post I wanted to write (aka a “blurb”), then I embedded the quiz.

Once I knew how that was going to look, I focused on structuring the quiz. The results were created first (this includes any pictures* or quotes I wanted to use), then I came up with the questions.

*The pictures I used for the results, I found on Google using the “labelled for reuse” tool.

Qzzr is super user friendly and you can sign up for free account. There are certain limits that come with a free account, but it didn’t really concern me this time since was my very first go at creating anything resembling an online quiz.

Step 2: Plug it in x2

After creating my account and picking what kind of quiz template I wanted to follow, I went ahead and started plugging in my results.

The description under each result was done after I made up the questions. I felt like I needed to have a subtle explanation for the questions I asked and some simple camera tips for each style would be appropriate.

The questions follow the same concept as the results, but once you have to think about mapping the answers it gets a little more difficult.

Step 3: I’m the map, Dora

To help with mapping, I drew out the quiz by hand in my notebook. Then I came up with each answer I wanted the quiz to consider after the quiz taker answered each question.

After I had everything mapped out, I just needed to input it into qzzr and hit publish.

When you publish, qzzr gives you two links. One link to the quiz’s qzzr site and an embed link. For embedding on Medium, I copy-pasted the site link where I wanted the quiz to show and Medium did it automatically.

If you ever get beat to the punch on content, here’s an alternative way to follow your dreams.

Here’s a link to the post this was written about!

--

--

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam

Musician & Content Creator. Social media — @anellimoliveira — Twitter & Instagram.