Top Sites to Create Infographics

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam
Published in
4 min readOct 17, 2016

Recently, a professor on campus requested helpful content centered on infographics. So, as a good little digital media Christmas elf, I gave it a shot to help this faculty member out.

My first experience with infographics was an assignment for a class. After looking at the example my professor gave, I thought I would have to teach myself Adobe InDesign and I got scared.

Then, I did what any college educated woman would do and took to Google.

Here’s what I found:

infogr.am

This site is like Instagram’s very distant cousin that actually cares about your education, but is a little pretentious about everything.

The first time I was on the site, a chat box opened up and a tiny internet person welcomed me and let me know they’d be available to help me get started if needed. This makes a lot of sense when you practically have to build your own infographic from scratch. This site is like coding in the infographic world.

Templates are available, but they all look the same. The only thing that changes between them is the color theme. Not to mention, if you want to customize anything you need to upgrade from the free package.

Oh, sorry. Would you like to change fonts? That would require putting in more effort. You should really learn not to be so needy. — infogr.am at family gatherings probably

I would only recommend this site if you’re extremely passionate about infographics. Clearly, I am not, but I do love Persian cat room guardians.

easel.ly

If infogr.am is Instagram’s very distant and pretentious cousin, then easel.ly is musical.ly’s half-sister no one talks about and shouldn’t because she’s equally annoying.

They have a lot of template options. But most of them look way too involved. When I finally found a simple design and tried to edit, I ended up being more frustrated than productive.

http://s3.amazonaws.com/media.skillcrush.com/skillcrush/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/term-404.png

Piktochart

Y’all, piktochart is a dream to use.

The icons, pictures, and templates are interesting and nice. Not to mention you have even more control over each individual block you add to the template. You get to choose the length of your infographic. The graphics that come with it are really cute as well.

Venngage

Your all purpose infographic maker

This site was my pick for completing the initial assignment that introduced me to the world of infographics in the first place. Venngage is still my go-to site for whenever I have to get an infographic done, but that’s because I know it best.

Canva

Your introduction to design

This is a cute, friendly site, but it might not be the best for infographic options. Navigating through the tools is intuitive and easy, however, since it only lets you select pre-created templates it doesn’t offer much flexibility.

The site’s work station interface is similar to Venngage’s.

Canva is a great basic introduction to design for blogs, backgrounds, fliers, and the like. I totally recommend it because it really wasn’t terrible at infographics.

Happy infographic-ing!

http://www.reactionface.info/sites/default/files/images/1310428349083_0.png

Yo, dawg, I heard you liked infographics. So, I made infographics about infographics so you can read infographics while learning to make infographics.

See my infographics online by clicking on the site name. #getlearnt

Infogr.am

Piktochat

Venngage

Canva

--

--

Millena Oliveira
Knowledge Jam

Musician & Content Creator. Social media — @anellimoliveira — Twitter & Instagram.