Why I want to “SELF-DISRUPT” me

because doing uncertain things can be fun ( and help me grow)

Sah. V. Lasso
knowledge out of the box
2 min readNov 26, 2019

--

“A person standing on top of a ladder in the clouds.” by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash

I read in the Addicted2Success an article about “how to self-disrupt yourself” and I thought that was quite interesting.

I´m super in favor of doing things to innovate myself and always support others to do the same, but currently, it's like I´m sitting comfortably on my box.

It´s not like if I´m not trying but I notice that when things get a bit hard or if I feel that I´m not getting the value (or feedback) that I think I deserve…I tend to get less motivated to do them ( and that is something I really need to improve).

I have the feeling that my motivation is also influenced by the environment that I am in, the people I talk to, the feedback I get, how people talk to me…there are plenty of external factors. But there are also internal factors too.

Maybe this “disrupt myself” idea can boost my energy levels, change my view of life or even kick me out of this box!

So how can I disrupt myself?

great question…

I keep thinking if it needs to be something big, something completely different from everything that I have done…

Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

or if it can be something small but significant.

Honestly? I still don´t know the answer but I´m going back on doing the things that make me happy, like writing a novel, writing articles here, journaling, taking pictures, painting, doing random small projects…things that activate and explore my creative side and at the same time clear my mind.

I´m not sure how these things will disrupt me since they are all old things that I do that make me happy, so I´m open and I already started different things completely out of my box, like programming, electronics, prototyping, synthetic biology, bioart…

I guess I will have to do trial and error on my own disrupt process and see :)

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
knowledge out of the box

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.