Getting To Known You: Aya Baeshean, VP, Head of Design

Maryalinav
Known.is
Published in
6 min readJul 25, 2022

The first thing you need to know when speaking with Aya Baeshean is that she is incredibly charismatic.

From just the brief sit down we had, she spoke with forthrightness, kindness, enthusiasm and of course the kind of energy that Duracell would be jealous of. Don’t get any ideas Duracell, she’s ours!

As the Head of Design, she has her hands full at leading the design department while elevating the Known Brand and client work, but we found ourselves taking a deeper dive into what it means to create an impact and how giving back served as a place called home for this expat.

When I first met you, I thought to myself, I gotta know more about Aya’s backstory. So, let’s start at the very beginning, where did you grow up?

My mother is Swiss German and my father is Saudi Arabian. I was born in Switzerland, and grew up between the Middle East and Europe. I spent the first few years of my childhood living in Saudi Arabia with a quick stunt to Egypt during the Gulf War. Then my family and I moved back to Switzerland when I was nine where I finally polished my English at a British School in Montreux.

That’s incredible! What was growing up like with a diverse background like that?

I was very fortunate to experience two drastically different cultures as a child. This means celebrating Eid & Ramadan as well as Easter & Christmas. In all seriousness, it has widened my perspective on people, strengthened my understanding of culture and opened my eyes to the world we live in.

When did you make your way to the States?

I moved to the US right after graduating high school with my family. My mother wanted to move to California so we did. I attended the University of San Diego and my brother wrapped up his last year of high school at Torrey Pine, Delmar. However, very quickly we found ourselves missing the four seasons and relocated up north; my mother headed to the Windy City (Chicago), my brother led his way to Washington DC and I found myself in the Big Apple.

How has your creative side impacted who you are as a person?

I have been drawn to creating things since a very young age. I have found that the one constant in my life growing up has been my ability to express myself through art and design. From painting a commission piece to developing a website, designing brand identity systems to building homes in Costa Rica; my life has always been led by my creative endeavors and has shaped my persona. My trip to Costa Rica in my early twenties has been one of the experiences that has sparked my interest into wanting to create impact on a global level.

Wow, that sounds like an experience that follows you forever. Would you agree?

Yes completely. Having traveled since a young age I have developed an innate curiosity to explore new horizons, experience different cultures, and discover new flavors from around the world. And when I can do all the above and give back by making an imprint in someone’s life this is the ultimate reward.

Not everyone is able to travel abroad to make an impact. Are there ways for people to help from afar?

Absolutely! There are many non profit organizations one can donate to in order to help from afar. But what I have come to realize is a lot of people like me want to see where their proceeds are being distributed. This is where I come into play! Just kidding, let me explain.

A couple years ago I flew to Ghana and spent time at an orphanage two hours out of Accra. During my stay there I took to my social media to share my journey with the kiddos and with one post I challenged my network to put in perspective on how a few dollars can have a great impact in some part of the world. Overnight I had received a significant amount of money which I proceeded to immediately make use of and shared an update on social media by thanking donors directly. The real-time impact people were seeing generated a ripple effect in donations and that has been the beginning of my journey of being a facilitator to those who want to help from afar.

That’s incredible Aya. How do you plan to channel the success you have had in supporting those who need it the most?

Glad you asked. Upon my return from Ghana I had decided to start my own foundation geared towards making a real time impact for those in need in places that probably don’t get any attention in mainstream media.

Then COVID happened and shut down any and all initiatives in motion. With the world coming back to a new normalcy I am thrilled to resume the work I started and am itching to fly back to Accra to make my way back to the orphanage in Nituzam later this year.

“ Talent and Diversity should not be presented as separate options, together they are the ultimate power behind the future of any successful workplace”

- Aya Baeshean, VP, Head of Design, Known

Where do you think this sense of purpose to serve others has come from?

Honestly, it’s not something that was promoted when I was young, so I think having been exposed to different sides of the world and having seen a lot; it’s hard to turn a cold shoulder and not feel a moral responsibility to do something, even if it’s small gesture it is an impact none the less.

At 24 I was presented with my first solo art show at the Westwood gallery in Soho and I had decided to create in addition to my original collection fifty 10x10 art pieces whose proceeds would be fully donated to the Worldwide Children Foundation of New York. At the time I couldn’t do more but that evening people came together and we collectively made an impact.

More Getting to Known You: Valerie Gono, Data Scientist

Coming from a diverse background, how do you think that has shaped your professional life?

My diverse background has brought forward my global sensibility and perspective in my professional life; which combined with my dynamic leadership skills and hands-on approach promotes environments of growth and camaraderie while elevating design standards with innovative solutions.

To leaders who may think talent is more important than diversity, what would you say?

First of all, “talent” and “diversity” should not be presented as options, together they are the ultimate power behind the future of any successful workplace. As a leader I have always championed diversity in the talent pool of my respective department and led with the motto “no duplicates”. Diverse Talent brings to the table a range of innovative solutions to any given challenge and allows us to cover a wider range of perspectives and outcomes, ultimately elevating and enriching the work we put out in the world.

Last question, if Aya isn’t at Known where can you find her?

Enjoying food, painting a new collection or planning a new adventure.

Thanks for this insightful and inspirational chat, Aya.

--

--