Getting to Known You: Cynthia Martinez, Brand Marketing Analyst

Maryalinav
Known.is
Published in
7 min readSep 15, 2022
Getting to Known You: Cynthia Martinez, Brand Marketing Analyst

National Hispanic Heritage Month is upon us! As a time to recognize, honor, and celebrate the tremendous influence Hispanic Americans have had on our culture and world at large, we’re taking some time to celebrate our Hispanic teammates at Known.

We’re kicking things off with Brand Marketing Analyst, Cynthia Martinez. She joined our team back in March of 2021 and has over five years of digital marketing and communications experience under her belt. We posed a handful of questions to her regarding her Hispanic Heritage.

What is your Hispanic background?

Both of my parents were born in Mexico, but I was born in California. I did spend my early years in Mexico which to me was an incredible experience and drew me close to my heritage even though I was born in America. As a child, my identity was that I was Mexican even though I knew by nationality I was American.

What does Hispanic heritage mean to you and how has your heritage shaped who you are today?

I have always known that September was an important month and held great significance for Latinos. Growing up, I was incredibly fortunate to go to a school that was diverse and I could look around and see cultures that were similar to mine.

Painting by Marco Ojeda, Untitled, 1997 — Mexic-Arte Museum
Painting by Marco Ojeda, Untitled, 1997 — Mexic-Arte Museum

In school, we learned a lot about the impact of Hispanic influence in the US and this included the contributions of not just Mexicans but Central/Latin Americans in addition to the many other immigrants that came before and after. To me, it was common knowledge. But it wasn’t till much later in life that I saw how much representation matters in everything we do and that this month of observance allows us to pause and recognize the need to learn about our history and what makes this specific group great.

What is something you wish others knew about Hispanic heritage?

To be Hispanic is not a singular characteristic. We come from various parts of the world, various regions, with varying cultures. Within Mexico alone there are so many different cultures based on the region you are from. I encourage people to take this upcoming month to self-educate and to learn more about the unique identities of countries that speak Spanish. Puerto Rico, El Salvador, Chile, Guatemala, Colombia, etc are all so different and while the month recognizes us all, it’s important to highlight the beauty that lies within each.

You’ll find that Spanish alone has so many variations, something as simple as the way certain words are used. While the literal translation may be the same, depending on where you are from it is used differently in a sentence structure.

Art installation at Mexic-Arte Museum, a fine arts museum in Austin, Texas.
Art installation at Mexic-Arte Museum, a fine arts museum in Austin, Texas.

What is a professional accomplishment are you most proud of?

I worked on several projects for Univision. With the launch of their streaming service alone, I was incredibly proud of our team for having helped it see success in the way it did. A lot of work went into that — from the research team supporting on audience segmentation to the brand strategy and studios team who took careful consideration of the nuances involved with creating such a big campaign in Spanish.

We created thousands of assets that were in Spanish and also supported them in post-launch. When it comes to creating campaigns like this, it can never be the same playbook, and having the diverse knowledge and background in this team alone is what really made the difference.

What inspired you to get into a career in Brand Strategy?

I began in PR and I thought it was the space that I was going to grow in my career, especially considering that I went to school and earned a degree in it. While I was working at a previous agency, a friend of mine began working at Known. Her experience about the fulfilling work that she was doing with clients, coupled with an employee-centric culture was really inspiring to see.

She soon shared a job opening on the Client Experience (CX) team and that was my first shift into this space. I was then brought on to support a project where I had the chance to work closely with Brand Strategy and I kind of fell in love. It felt like the right fit for me and made me love the work I was doing. I brought up the conversation of switching over to Brand Strategy and it was met with positivity and open arms.

Wow, so you switched teams and practices at Known? How did that work for you?

To be honest, it was a longer process than I anticipated, but I learned it was because the Brand Strategy team and my manager wanted to be thoughtful about having a plan in place for me prior to transitioning from CX to Brand Strategy. It was a long process but I never felt discouraged. At Known, they say you do your best work here and they mean it. It’s not just about the work you do for clients but also how you as a professional are able to grow with the company.

In your words, what is Brand Marketing?

To me, Brand Marketing means addressing the “what, why and how” of a brand’s greater plan in a meaningful, data-driven way. A strong brand strategy can become the bridge that translates the business strategy into action — across all facets of the business. Brand Marketing is then about expanding to things like product positioning, a communications plan or customer journey mapping. And it means creative and performance strategy is always backed by insights on the deepest level.

What advice (professional) would you give to others of Hispanic/Latinx heritage?

This is a good question and what I would share is to be true to yourself. Representation matters. When you get your first job in the working world, you’re taught to lean into that “beginner” role where all you’re expected to do is to just absorb and learn. Unfortunately, for many (including me when I first started) speaking up with a different POV is not always encouraged. But our unique POV is exactly what is needed to help address a blindspot. I had to learn that speaking up about how a project or campaign doesn’t feel right is acceptable, especially when it doesn’t reflect my reality or the reality of Hispanics like me and can come across as being tone deaf or ignorant. For this reason, too, greater efforts should be made in ensuring that positions in all facets of this industry are as diverse as possible.

Speaking out about a blindspot illuminates and helps others to grow and you should never be afraid to call out when representation isn’t there, because it does matter.

The people who get chosen for an ad or an illustration sometimes are one tone and not a reflection of the “real-world”. Five years from now, you want to be able to look back at your career and not be haunted by moments where you should have spoken up. Be proud of the inner voice that urges you to say something.

What is one of your favorite cultural traditions that your family celebrates?

It is the Mexican Day of the Dead — Dia de los Muertos. Yes, it is commercialized and people here in the US are much more familiar with it, which is great! Yes, it is a celebration, but what isn’t acknowledged is how personal it is and how it is about family. It is not so much the Day of the Dead, but the Day of my Dead. For many first and second generations, our family and ancestors are not buried here in the US so we celebrate it differently here.

A mural in Austin, Texas of a woman with flowers and skulls created by Christin Apodaca.
A mural in Austin, Texas of a woman with flowers and skulls created by Christin Apodaca.

When I lived in Mexico, I saw first hand how magical and how real it is. Celebrating your ancestors and visiting their graves is so personal to each individual.

What do you want to be Known for ?

I want to be known for doing brand strategy in the most authentic, informed and personable way possible.

Lastly for the foodies out there, Name your favorite place to eat authentic Hispanic food in Austin.

I have a really good spot that I think will meet the standard of foodies out there. Check out Suerte in East Austin, TX. Suerte is an award-winning restaurant driven by a passion for masa, an ingredient at the heart of Mexican cooking. I would recommend the Tlayuda and of course, the Tres Leches cake.

Thanks, Cynthia. We will definitely check out your recommendations and appreciate you taking time to speak with us.

Want to learn more about Known and explore a career with us, click here.

--

--