Getting to Known You: Leah Butler, Manager, Advanced Analytics

Heather Muse
Known.is
Published in
5 min readMar 30, 2022

Social science can explain crime as well as inform brand campaigns. We learned more from Known’s resident criminologist.

Leah Butler stands in front of a screen that shows her doctoral dissertation, “Modern Day Racism: Examining the Relationship Between Minority Threat and the Racial and Ethnic Typification of Crime.”
Leah Butler, Ph.D., after successfully defending her dissertation

One of the key components of Known’s Operating System is its people. As our President, Ross Martin, recently said on Campaign’s Chemistry podcast, “Inside the Iron Man suit is Tony Stark…and there are a lot of ‘Tony Starks’ who work here.” Not only does Known have a ton of “Tony Starks,” we also have at least one Knowner who could fit right in at the BAU on Criminal Minds. Southwest Texas native Leah Butler, a manager on Known’s advanced analytics team, has a Ph.D. in criminology from Florida State University and is based in our Austin office.

How do marketing and criminology intersect? They have more in common than you may think. I talked to Leah about why she chose to study in this field, how she wound up in marketing, and how goats (yes, goats) helped pay for her first car.

Known Manager, Advanced Analytics, Leah Butler sits in a booth and smiles.
Leah Butler, Manager, Advanced Analytics at Known

How long have you been at Known?

1.5 years.

Tell us why you decided to study criminology.

I majored in psychology with a minor in criminal justice in undergrad. Throughout my studies, I realized that I found my minor more interesting than my major.

When it came time to graduate, I didn’t really know what my next steps would be, so I decided to apply to graduate criminology programs. When researching various programs, I found that Florida State University had the top ranked doctoral criminology program. I told myself if I got into FSU, then I would go. Jokes on me because it turned out to be the only school I got into, so it made my choice really simple!

What makes a criminology Ph.D. want to work in advertising?

While working on my Ph.D. I started working as a graduate assistant for a professor (who later became my mentor) Dr. Marc Gertz. I assisted with teaching many of his courses, but I became really interested in his research methods course.

More Getting To Known You: Sam Karasik, Director, Data Science

Dr. Gertz owned a survey research company, and through his knowledge, I was able to learn the practical applications of survey research outside of academia. Over the years, my specialty within criminology became public opinion research. When I decided that I did not want to pursue the traditional track of becoming a professor or working for a think tank, I learned that my knowledge of statistics and public opinion research could be applied to the private sector.

What’s a common misconception about criminology?

When people hear “criminology,” they immediately think of either forensics or law. But I’m here to tell you that I wouldn’t know what to do with fingerprints or how to write a court brief!

Criminology is actually a branch of sociology that studies the causes of crime. It’s a social science that uses theories, data, and statistics to explain everything from what factors lead people to commit crimes, all the way to why certain areas have more crime than others.

I wouldn’t know what to do with fingerprints or how to write a court brief!

How did studying criminology prepare you to work at Known? How has it influenced your work here?

My criminology program placed equal emphasis on research methods, statistics, and criminological theory in order to make sure that graduates are well-rounded social scientists and researchers.

A statement or claim with no reference to anchor it has no value.

During grad school I took five different statistics courses, and I was also the teaching assistant for the graduate-level research methods course for three years. All of these experiences prepared me to work at Known as a member of the advanced analytics team.

Getting to Known You: Susan Hoxie, SVP, Strategy

One thing that has influenced my work was something that my mentor often said: the biggest failure in research is the failure to compare. This simple statement often reminds me that when setting up a study or presenting findings you always need to make a comparison. A statement or claim with no reference to anchor it has no value. I am very grateful that he prepared me to leave academia by making sure I saw the practical applications of theoretical research.

What are you working on right now?

One project I am on is a segmentation study for a new streaming service. It’s a really big project that involves the human insights team and the brand strategy team. I love being on projects that incorporate so many disciplines across our Strategy practice!

Do you have a favorite project from your time here?

My favorite project so far has been the pro bono work we did for the Sickle Cell Disease Foundation (SCDF). Not only was the subject matter interesting, but it was rewarding to play a role in Known’s pro bono initiative. There are some projects that have a minor or delayed impact, but the work we did for SCDF was immediately impactful and will play a role in SCDF’s ability to help more people who are living with sickle cell disease.

Is there such a thing as “the perfect crime?”

If I told you I’d have to kill you… Kidding! I do joke around with my friends and family that I have the perfect crime planned if I ever need it.

Law & Order or CSI?

Funny enough, I haven’t really watched any crime shows since high school! I will say that I do have a soft spot for Monk. It’s my all time fave.

What are you reading right now?

I’ve been slowly making my way through Salt. Fat. Acid. Heat. I’m a big foodie, and I love to eat just as much as I love to cook.

What are you listening to?

If there is a current season of Survivor out, you can catch me listening to the Survivor Know-It-Alls on Rob Has A Podcast.

What do you want to be Known For?

I want to be known for giving more to the world than I have taken.

What’s a Little Known Fact about you?

Many are surprised to know that growing up I raised and sold goats through the 4-H livestock program. I used all of my goat money to buy my first car!

--

--

Heather Muse
Known.is

Editorial Director at Known. Previous roles at USAToday/Reviewed, Dataminr, Fortune and others. Avid knitter. Learning to sew. Cat lady. Bay Stater in NYC.