Getting To Known You: Nicolas Perez-Molina, Copywriter

Maryalinav
Known.is
Published in
5 min readOct 14, 2022

National Hispanic Heritage Month is coming to a close but celebrating our employees and the incredible culture they represent doesn’t have to!

We recently sat down with Nicolas Perez-Molina, Copywriter in our Studios practice focusing on Consumer Brands. He joined Known in January of this year and has been a copywriter for three years after a successful career in advertising sales. We are incredibly lucky to have him on our team.

What is your Hispanic background?

My father is from Lima, Peru, and my mom is from Cochabamba, Bolivia. They met each other in Washington, D.C. and later moved to Northern Virginia. I grew up in Northern Virginia for most of my adult life and moved to Miami where I began my copywriting career.

Tell me what it was like growing up?

I never felt very different being Hispanic because I grew up in a diverse neighborhood. But, as I grew up, I realized how incredible it was to be part of the first generation in my family to be born in America. I lost my father when I was 21 years old. I was young enough that I didn’t fully appreciate what a great dad he was. He was a strict parent, which is not fun when you’re a kid. But as I grew older, my perspective changed because I began to see my dad as more than a disciplinarian, but rather as someone who is just trying to make my life easier. He taught me the importance of self-discipline and strong character. My Mom was a mother to everyone. She was “everybody’s abuela”, cooking for everyone, hosting sleepovers, and just being a cool, loving mom.

“He always told me that when you step out the door, you aren’t just representing yourself, you are representing your family, your name and your culture.”

What does Hispanic heritage mean to you and how has your heritage shaped who you are today?

My heritage means a lot to me not just because of who my parents are in terms of their ethnic representation but because of what my Dad instilled in me. He always told me that when you step out the door, you aren’t just representing yourself, you are representing your family, your name and your culture. He was really big on educating people about the Hispanic culture. He’d say that Hispanic is not a race but a culture, and a diverse one at that. When he would speak of Peru, he’d tell me that people born in the mountains live differently from people from the cities, similar to what we see in the States.

He would remind us that when he came to the USA in the ’60s, many Americans back then thought Hispanics were all brown haired, brown skinned. And that most Hispanics who come here were uneducated. But that could not be further from the truth. Many are educated and come from stable families but have chosen to come here for more opportunities. For that reason, simple things like having good manners, being a good host, and of course being punctual were very important to him. As my Dad would say, “with everything you do, do it with a touch of class”. It’s that sage advice that I still aspire to follow today.

What is something you wish others knew about Hispanic heritage?

It’s incredible to see the way the Hispanic community pays respect to their older generation. Nursing homes are just not a thing in Hispanic culture. There is a warmth we have for the elderly that I would love to see more of here in the States.

What is a professional accomplishment are you most proud of?

I don’t know if this is what I would put at the top of my resume, but one of the projects I am still most proud of is the ‘Guns and Pickles’ campaign my friends and I did in New York. We put so much blood, sweat, and tears into a campaign that came from our hearts. I would be in random subway stations at 1am, plastering up stickers of giant pickles over movie posters.

What inspired you to get into copywriting?

When I was in radio ad sales, I would first sell airtime then write the commercials for the client. But I enjoyed the writing more than the selling. Plus I thought if I wrote it well enough, the ad could sell itself. This passion really came through and I could feel it in my bones that this was the space for me. I knew if I didn’t at least try to make this as a career that this is something I would regret forever. So, a friend gave me guidance on how to get the technical training and the rest is history!

What advice (professional) would you give to others of Hispanic/Latinx heritage?

Lean into your experiences. The most unique thing we have is the way we were raised. There will always be someone smarter than you, or who went to a better school but who you are is your greatest strength.

And, journaling is another piece of advice I would give. It reminds me of how amazing life is, when I take a moment to appreciate it. I have more compassion for myself, for others.

What is one of your favorite cultural traditions that your family celebrates?

During Christmas, we actually celebrate it on the 24th. We would have these holiday feasts that start at 7 and last like three, four hours. Then we’d listen to music and play games. Then one of us would dress up as Santa, which I’ve done many times, and try to outsmart the kids. We got pretty good at it.

For New Years, we eat twelve grapes at midnight. One for each month to represent the luck we’ll have in the coming year.

What do you want to be Known for ?

As someone who tries to make any room I’m in better.

Thanks, Nicolas. This was such a heart-warming chat!

Want to learn more about Known and explore a career with us, click here.

--

--