How Ted Lasso Prepared Me for Life at Known

Samantha Reiss
Known.is
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2021
Ted Lasso, Apple TV+ Series 2020

Two months ago, a friend of mine suggested that I watch the hit tv show, Ted Lasso. As a college student who was home for summer break, I conceded merely to occupy my spare time. Little did I know that this mindless entertainment would become a reflection of my internship experience later this summer.

Ted Lasso is a mini comedy series about an American football coach named Ted who is brought to England to coach one of the most competitive “football” teams in Europe. Despite the fact that Lasso knows little to nothing about the sport, he overcomes it by leaning into his strength: the art of leadership. He dedicates a portion of his morning to conversation with his boss about her life. He shows confidence in his players’ abilities, even when they do not believe in themselves. He promotes treating team members with respect rather than cut-throat competitiveness. He leads his team with kindness, virtue, and patience and to watch it was inspiring.

Fast forward to June, I have finished Ted Lasso and finally begun my internship at a new company: Known. While I was not venturing to a new country to work like Lasso, the feeling of starting over was quite relatable.

Client Experience Intern, Samantha Reiss

I had heard horror stories from my peers interning at other companies about their relationships with bosses that sounded like they were straight out of the movie The Devil Wears Prada. Though the people who I’d met throughout the recruitment process did not remind me of Miranda Priestly, I did not want to get my hopes up about this seemingly welcoming work culture.

What I didn’t know was that I was in for a treat. Known’s work culture was nothing short of a positive, warm community. I met the team and began to dive headfirst into a variety of projects. Competitive analyses, pitch decks, content marketing… all of these words were foreign to me. Nonetheless, this didn’t seem to matter. I was offered all of the trust, belief, and encouragement I could have asked for.

Known’s work culture was nothing short of a positive, warm community.

When I logged onto a morning Zoom, I was immediately asked with thoughtful curiosity how I was doing and what was going on in my world. Whenever I’d messaged colleagues for help, I’d receive big welcomes and get-to-know-you questions in return. When I’d apologize for my inundation of questions about our work, I was encouraged and told it is always better to ask. When I had desires to expand my depth of knowledge in the industry, I was given the opportunity to do a rotation in another department.

The fictional narrative of Ted Lasso showcased many of the values of a healthy work environment, but Known showed me what it can look like in real life. Here’s what I learned this summer:

  • I learned that treating others with kindness is more productive than asserting strict dominance.
  • I learned how meaningful even the small gesture of getting to know someone feels.
  • I learned that everyone’s contributions matter — even a new intern who is still in college.
  • I learned most of all the importance of surrounding myself with people who consciously make an effort to boost my confidence rather than tear me down.

“For me, success is not about the wins and losses. It’s about helping these young fellas be the best versions of themselves on and off the field.” — Ted Lasso

“Don’t confuse the happiness of pursuit with the pursuit of happiness” — Ross Martin, President of Known

Kindness, virtue, and patience. Thank you Known and Ted Lasso for showing me the importance of living by these values as a way to bring out the best in myself and others.

Keep an eye out on Known’s Career page for next summer’s internship program!

--

--