Garage Days with Doug Clifford

Thomas Gerbasi
KO63 Music
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2020

--

Doug Clifford

It’s bad enough that Doug Clifford is one of the great rock drummers of all-time. Now he had to go and clean his garage to make us all look bad. And not only that, while cleaning he found some old tapes from the mid-80s that turned into the recently released Magic Window album.

Jeez, Doug.

“I can’t take the credit for that,” laughs Clifford when it comes to the cleaning the garage part of this tale. The rest, the 75-year-old is guilty as charged, but as he came across one reel of tape at home last year, he had a hunch there were more to be found.

He was right.

“I was looking around for what I might be able to find in the drawers of this cabinet because I hadn’t looked in there in a long time and that’s when I found the one reel,” he said. “I knew there were others, so I didn’t really get into cleaning the whole garage. I can’t give myself credit there. (Laughs) I went straight to the locker where I knew I stored music stuff and that’s when I found them.”

He might as well have found gold, as Magic Window is likely going to kick off a series of releases from the former Creedence Clearwater Revival sticksman. But first things first. As good as the “new” album is, why wasn’t it initially released when recorded in the 80s?

--

--

Thomas Gerbasi
KO63 Music

Editorial Director for Zuffa (UFC), Sr. editor for BoxingScene, and writer for Gotham Girls Roller Derby, Boxing News, and The Ring...WOOOO!