9/11, Climate Change, COVID, and Air Conditioning

Why do I have faith in tomorrow?

Jacquelyn Lynn
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readJul 23, 2021

--

Image created by Jacquelyn Lynn using MockupShots

On September 11, 2001, my husband and I watched, horrified, as planes flew into buildings, as those buildings came crashing down, as thousands of people died and lives changed forever.

Nothing in our lives prepared us for something like that.

In our safe suburban enclave, we were bewildered and frightened.

We spent the day glued to the television. Then, for some reason, I went out into the garage — and it was flooded. Water was pouring out from the air conditioner.

I called the company that had installed it. When the owner answered my call, I said, “I can’t believe I’m calling you about something so mundane after what’s happened today, but ….”

I don’t remember exactly what he said, but it turned out that the unit’s drain was clogged. So instead of making a service call, he told my husband how to clear it with a garden hose and what to do to make sure it didn’t happen again.

That’s when I knew that the world was not ending.

I believe that simple clog and honest business owner was…

--

--

Jacquelyn Lynn
Koinonia

Inspirational author, business ghostwriter. Need some great quotes? Get “A Book of Proverbs: Wisdom of the Ages” free. Download at CreateTeachInspire.com/wisdom