A Crown of Beauty Instead of Ashes

Daring to trust the LORD for restoration

Hadassah Treu I Author
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Photo by Hadassah Treu

Have you wondered how God can give us a crown of beauty instead of ashes?

It has been nearly two years since the greatest loss of my life and I could not believe that it still hurt so much. It was a Sunday morning before church. I woke up with a feeling of heaviness and despair, an icy ball in my stomach, and an urge to cry, although no tears were coming out. I just wanted to close my eyes and continue sleeping, hoping I could be with my love again, at least in my dreams.

Two years. It has been two years of living a life that I didn’t choose for myself and I didn’t want. With the unexpected death of my husband and best friend, I lost the things I cherished the most after my relationship with God: my family that made me secure and protected, my godly husband who was the closest person I had in this life, my expectations of a future together and my nest in the beautiful country of Austria.

Living in ashes

So many unbearable losses! Every day I long for his love, companionship, and ordinary, daily moments with him. I simply miss his presence, which was an integral part of my life.

Loneliness became my constant companion. Even when I am among people, enjoying their voices and presence…

--

--

Hadassah Treu I Author
Koinonia

Hadassah Treu is an award-winning Christian blogger, poet, speaker and author of “Draw Near: How Painful Experiences Become the Birthplace of Blessings.”