Do you have the Christmas blues?

A Cure for Seasonal Sadness

Keep it on the tip of your tongue

Elizabeth Erlandson
Koinonia
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2021

--

“Though you have made me see troubles . . . you will restore my life again; You will increase my honor and comfort me once again.” Ps. 71: 20a, 21 (NIV)

The Christmas season should be full of joy, right?

If movies, advertisements, greeting cards, and social media reflect reality, then people worldwide are experiencing picture-perfect lives at this time of year, days filled with family, fun, and feasting.

So, what’s wrong with me?

Sad-eyed dog
Photo by Sophie Elvis on Unsplash

Why do I struggle with the holiday doldrums, a slight sense of sadness, or, even worse, downright depression?

Psychologists offer a variety of reasons for these feelings, but no matter the cause, the cure cannot be prescribed by a mere physician.

Only the Great Physician, the One Who made us, offers a viable remedy for our disappointment, sorrow, and grief — His most precious Word.

I found the solution

--

--

Elizabeth Erlandson
Koinonia

Totally sold out to Jesus Christ, in Whom I find ever-increasing joy. Wife to Doug. Mother of two. Urban gleaner. Retired candy store owner. Devotional writer.